Note: we now recommend working on your project locally instead of using Auto-sync. See Working with a local project in our Local set-up article to find out how.

If you're already used to Auto-sync, you'll find that working on your project locally is a more powerful and flexible way of developing your site's frontend. It gives you full control over the project and a convenient way of managing changes, and pushing them to the Divio Cloud.

To keep using Auto-sync, read on:

Using Auto-sync

Enable Auto-sync

Auto-sync must be enabled in your Divio app settings - it is no longer enabled by default. 

Your project must have been deployed at least once to the Test server before Auto-sync will start.

Once enabled, the Auto-sync button will be available.

Start Auto-sync

To start Auto-sync, select a project in the Divio App and hit the Auto-sync button.

Within a few seconds, the Divio App will establish a connection to your Divio Cloud project. Changes you make and save locally will be refreshed on the server (if your project contains the appropriate template tags - see our Explorer site's base template for an example - and auto-refresh is enabled in the site).

About Auto-sync

Auto-sync allows you to work on a project's frontend (HTML templates and static files such as CSS, JavaScript and images).

Only gulpfile.js, package.json  and files from folders private, static and templates will be auto-synced. All other files will be ignored. 

If you need to work on other files, including Python application code, set up your project locally.

Did this answer your question?