Your backups are available from the Backups view of your project. It shows the Scheduled and On-demand backups that have been created.

(Some users may also have access to our old backup system, which will appear in your project under Backups - legacy.)

In each case, the backups page willlists when and what was backed up, with additional information and options to restore or download the backup. The On-demand view will also provide options to create new backups.

How to create backups

On-demand backups are made according to the project's backup schedule, and require no intervention from the use.

On-demand backups can be made whenever you require.

To make a backup, select Backup... for the server you want backed up. In the next dialog, choose whether to backup database, media or both, and optionally add a note to the backup. When you hit Create backup, the process will be started; once completed, the backup will appear in your list of backups.

How to work with existing backups

The image below shows key aspects of the interface. Each listed backup

  • has a date
  • is labelled Live or Test, to indicate which server the backup belongs to
  • shows whether it will soon be removed from the system ("Pending deletion" - in the example below, because the project has reached its backups retention limit for Live server)
  • will display any notes the user created when the backup was made (e.g. "Pre-launch roll-back state")
  •   shows whether media, database or both were backed up
  • the total size of the backup
  • has a Restore option
  • has an options menu, for further actions, such as Prepare download as illustrated

Detail view

You can also select a particular backup to view in more detail. Amongst other things, this also shows the Git commit hash that applied to the project at the time the backup was taken - this is particularly important in cases where a database dump is no longer in synchronisation with the codebase. 

Restore

The Restore functionality gives you flexibility. You can choose what to restore (database or media) and its destination (project and environment).

Be warned that a restore operation will overwrite content at the destination. Take a backup before restoring unless you are sure you will no longer need that content.

Download

To download a backup to your own computer, select Prepare download and choose the content you want to download. The files will be prepared asynchronously, and an email message containing links to the database and/or media files will be sent to you when they are ready.

The database will be made available in the form of a binary Postgres database dump

The media files will be made available as a tarred archive, and will include a manifest file listing contents.

Did this answer your question?